Texas Leads the Nation in Drunk Driving Fatalities
Texas is known for many good things, but these are all overshadowed by its infamous distinction as the leader in drunk driving deaths. On average, 1,438 people are killed in drunk driving accidents in the state each year. In 2017, Houston was the top city for DUI deaths, with 72.
Many people are aware of the penalties for drunk driving. A person can face fines, jail time, community service, education programs and license suspension.
But a person’s decision to drink and drive can impact others as well. A person who is intoxicated loses their good judgment. Their reaction times slow down. They are less able to react in a dangerous situation and avoid an accident. Therefore, they are more likely to get into a serious crash. These crashes can seriously injure and even kill others.
The penalties for drunk driving can be harsh. A first offense can result in up to 180 days in jail, as well as a $2,000 fine and a one-year license suspension. For a second offense, a person can face up to one year in jail. The fine increases to as much as $4,000 and their driver’s license may be suspended for two years. They will also need an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. A third offense can result in up to 10 years in jail, with a $10,000 fine and a two-year license suspension. Nevertheless, drunk driving continues to be a serious issue in Texas and it is only getting worse.
In Texas, the blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is 0.08. A person with a BAC at or above this level is considered to be legally intoxicated. They can be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). A person whose BAC is below 0.08 can also be arrested if they are seen driving erratically and exhibiting the behavior of someone who is intoxicated. In addition, Texas has a zero tolerance law for underage drivers. Under state law, it is illegal to have any amount of alcohol in your system while operating a motor vehicle if you are under the age of 21.
What to Know About Impairment
It can be hard to determine whether or not someone is impaired, as it can vary from person to person. Your body’s ability to process and tolerate alcohol depends on several factors, such as your body weight, gender and the food you’ve eaten. In general, women, small people and those who are younger tend to become impaired quicker. It takes less alcohol for them to feel the effects of intoxication. However, you should be aware that impairment starts with the first drink of alcohol.
Contact a Personal Injury Lawyer
If you are a victim of a drunk driving accident, seek legal help right away. You should not have to pay for the damages caused by someone else’s negligent and reckless behavior.
The Houston drunk driving accident lawyers at The West Law Office, PLLC will work diligently to get you the compensation you deserve. Schedule a free consultation today. Call 281-347-3247 or fill out the online form.